AshGMW is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Help, please! Beginner..Trying to filter results from a min size-max size in Access?

Hi there,

*NB: I am a beginner with Access, so paraphrasing would be appreciated*

I work for a commercial property company and have just created a database for our approximate 2,000 applicants. The purpose of this database is to email applicants relevant properties that may be of interest.

Therefore, a typical 'search' that I need to perform on a daily basis could be something like:- All applicants looking for warehouse/factory space, between 2,000-6,000 sq ft in NW London. So, as an example, I have my fields set up as follows:

Company^ Property Location^ Property Type^ Minimum Size Sqft^ Maximum Size Sqft
    ^
    App1 NW London Warehouse/factory 2,000 4,500
    App2 S London Offices 3,000 10,000
    App3 NW London Warehouse/Factory 2,500 5,000
    App4 NW London Warehouse/Factory 3,500 6,000

However, when I filter my "minimum sq ft" "greater than" 2,000 and "maximum sq ft" "Less than" 6,000, it returns very little results; out of 2,000, possibly only 80. I now see that these columns are contradicting eachother. Also, you can imagine if I were then to filter out property type and location, I would be left with barely any applicants.

Please help!! I haven't a clue how to get the database to perform in the way I need it to.

I need to be able to search between a range of sizes without the two columns conflicting between one another.

I hope this makes sense.

Thanks

Rawb is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2000
    For the individual locations, I'd change your Table layout to something like the following:

LocID LocCompany LocAddress LocType LocSize
    1 App1 NW London Warehouse/Factory 4500
    2 App2 S London Offices 10000
    3 App3 NW London Warehouse/Factory 5000

Then you can just run a Query like the following:
    Code:
    SELECT 
    FROM 
      [LocSize] BETWEEN 2000 AND 6000