Dinjyo65 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Unhappy Query Filter Trough ComboBox

Hi All,
    I am pretty new to Access. I am using Access 2010.

I am trying to run a query to filter data based on combobox. It's seems to be drawing blank without pulling any results.
    Detailed explanation:

I have a table with lot's of column and i need to filter this table based on a value selected by user. Only three values can be selected by a user and i am using this to filter one of the columns using IFF function.

IIf([Forms]![Test_Form]![Combo97]="Only Pass Results","L",IIf([Forms]![Test_Form]![Combo97]="Only Fail Results","P","*"))

- It seems to be drawing blank.
    - Secondly if i just use one IFF statement, "*" doesn't seem to work.

Any help appreciated.
    Thanks

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Wildcard needs LIKE operator. Think I have tried to set LIKE "*" in IIf criteria expression and never got it to work.

Is the combobox RowSource a ValueList or query?

Maybe you need to restructure combobox. Make it a multicolumn and bind it to the column with L/P values but set the width of that column to 0 so users only see the full descriptor. Then the criteria could be:

LIKE [Forms]![Test_Form]![Combo97] & "*"
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Being a starter on Access, no idea what u meant.
    I have attached database with query, can't figure out why its not working.

If you could have a quick look. I assume it's some sort of typo or a quick fix.
    Thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files

June7 is offline VIP
    Why did your example in post show Combo97 but the name is actually Combo29? And the form name is actually MainForm.

The combobox is multi-column and RowSource is:
    SELECT [Criteria].[ID], [Criteria].[CriteriaS] FROM Criteria ORDER BY [CriteriaS] DESC;