Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Kris Grim is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3

    Question A calculation used as a form "control source" and the result is not bonded to table

    I'm not sure how to describe the problem, it's probably something very simple but it's only simple if you know it. I've created a form which is linked to a table. Most of the boxes within the form require user to input the data manually e.g date, order number, spec number etc.
    However I've changed the control source on some of the boxes and replaced it with a formula e.g "=1+1". Access calculate the result for me e.g "2" but does not record this information in the table.

    The problem I've got is that eventually I'd like to filter the data within the table or run a quote but one of the criteria may be the result of the formula.
    So if I specify in the quote that i want to see all records within a specific range lets say "25-30" there will be no results as the column that column is blank.



    Could you please help me with this?
    I would appreciate any advise.

    Thank you
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 2.png   1.png  

  2. #2
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,284
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  3. #3
    Kris Grim is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thank you very much for that link however I'm not to sure if this sorts the problem... All I really want is the table to display calculated values from the form.
    Surely there must be a simple way to do this?
    I just want to type "1+1" in the form and I want the result "2" to be recorded in the table...
    Thanks

  4. #4
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,284
    Quote Originally Posted by Kris Grim View Post
    I'm not to sure if this sorts the problem...
    Yes, it does. 2010 has a calculated field, but no prior version did (it runs contrary to normalization rules to store calculated values). You will need to programmatically place the value in the table, as discussed in the "You want to store a calculated result anyway?" section of that link.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  5. #5
    Kris Grim is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thank you very much for all the information, your help was very useful! You've saved me a lot of work.
    ONCE AGAIN THANK YOU!

  6. #6
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,284
    Happy to help, and welcome to the site!
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Adding "Open" column to Query Result
    By premis in forum Queries
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-30-2012, 03:47 PM
  2. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-11-2012, 09:44 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-21-2011, 05:29 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-04-2010, 03:31 PM
  5. Reffering to the "Active" form in a calculation.
    By Computer202 in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-09-2010, 10:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums