Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
    eskybel is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Question The easiest way to make a point of sale

Hello everyone,
    Did a lot of searching around, found some solutions that looked like they should work, but didn't, and have been stuck for a few days now. Now, I'm still quite new to Access and SQL, but so far I've completed a number of things in my program.

What I am building is a Point of Sale system. I have a main screen with buttons that ask "Add Customer," "Add Item into Inventory," "Register," "Quit." My add customer works great, my add items works great, quit works great.

The part I'm getting hung up on is creating the form that acts as the register for the POS. I have a form (TransMenu-F) that's Control Source is a table (ItemAdd-T) with fields for the Sale screen, such as "TransNumber, TransDate, TransTime, TransItem1, TransCost1, etc. The goal is to have a user enter information in the form, which puts it in the ItemAdd table, and then the ItemAdd table would be used for printing the receipt, as well as appending the ItemAdd information to a master table where all transactions are held.

And, I am trying to set the (TransMenu-F) up so there is a text box where a SKU (TransItem1 above) could be entered by hand or by barcode scanner, and upon entering this SKU, it would query my inventory table (ItemInfo-T), find the SKU, and populate another text box on my transaction form (TransMenu-F) just to the right of the SKU text box, that would display the products description, and in another text box to the right of that, the price of the item.