phoebonacci is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

How to automatically assign values from another table when a new record is created?

Dear all,

First off let me admit that I am a novice at Access and am well aware that my question could be stupidly simple, so my apologies if this is the case! That said, I'm also at a complete loss for how to proceed..

1st, I would like to add a field to a form where I can input data to records from a second table, and then have values from the first table automatically included in the new record in the second table. I can do this manually with a subform but want to avoid extra data entry where possible.

2nd, if to replicate the information in this way is redundant, then how do I ensure that any reports I do with the records from the second table will pull the values from the first table?

A bit of background: Table1 contains info for lectures recorded. Table2 will share some of Table1's info (unique values like who gave the lecture, the language it's in, etc), but will be used to house info on specific moments in those lectures that we will want to return to later. I would just include these moments as a field in Table1 except that there may be more than one per lecture and I understand that reporting would therefore be more difficult.

Any assistance to this noob would be hugely appreciated!

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Is this what you're after?

BaldyWeb - Autofill

Generally you wouldn't store anything but a key value from the first table in the second. You'd get the related info for forms/reports by using a query that joined the two tables together.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Windows XP Access 2003