AccessNoob16 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Open an external folder specific by a form field

OK, I'm pretty new to Access, but I can already see the power it has and I'm trying to convince my boss that it'll be beneficial to our company. I've built a simple database that basically stores information about past and present projects my company is working on. I would like to add a command button to the project form that will open each project's folder that's located on our server. I'd like the button to open the folder based on the record I'm looking at, without having to browse to the folder, etc. I'm pretty sure this is possible since I've seen other threads that address it, but all of them seem addressed to a more experienced user than myself so some of the steps are omitted. If there is a kind soul on this board that can dumb the process down for me or point me to a thread that does so, I'd be very grateful. Thanks in advance.

TG_W is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    I am sure you have already seen the following code, but this might be good start if you don't mind setting it up for users.

Dim X As Variant
    X = Shell("Explorer.EXE \\YOURNETWORK\Projects\Main_Folder\Sub_Folder", vbNormalFocus)

Ok, some of that makes sense to me, but I'm going to need it even more watered down. Sorry, l
    ike I said I'm really new and the book I've been using to teach myself this stuff doesn't seem to have any instruction on this topic.

Ok. To use what I put up there, you would create a button on your form for each project. Personally, I like to use Labels where enter the text, then play with size/shape/coloring/etc. since the buttons are all gray.