Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Table Relationships

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dfadfdasfdddddddddddddddd.JPG 
Views:	21 
Size:	52.5 KB 
ID:	7014

Hi All,

As a access noob, I was hoping someone may be able to give me feedback on my relationships I have set up for the database we are trying to use.

tableProducts=Information specific to that product number (chemical purity, chemical name, product number, natural or not)
    tableSuppliers=Information specific just to that supplier (Supplier name, contact info, etc)
    tableProducts+Suppliers= Information only specific to the product and supplier such as how that manufacturer produced that chemical, what starting materials used, solvents, etc.

tableCountry=I just added this because I wanted to create a combo box on the tableProducts+suppliers so who ever is entering data can just select the country of origin instead of typing it (hopefully to avoid improper data)

In the end I want a form that houses the information for that product (the information from tableProducts) and then either as a subform, or as part of the main form, allows you to pick the suppliers for that product and then will display the information from tableProducts+suppliers.

Can anyone tell me if these relationships are ok? I think what the tableProducts+suppliers is supposed to be is a Junction table, but as I said I am new with access and not sure if it was setup properly.

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    If a product can be supplied by many suppliers and a supplier can supply many products, then yes, you need the junction table.

But first, some general recommendations:
    1. Do not use spaces or special characters (+,/,|,\,? etc.) in your table or field names
    2. Use descriptive primary key field names rather than ID use productID in the product table
    3. Do not use lookup fields in your tables. See this site for the problems table level lookups can cause.