Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    rts is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    34

    Front End Setup for Different users


    I have a database set up for our Construction projects. I modeled it so each project would start with its own database for time constraint reasons. I would like to have a back end and front end so that my boss can look at all projects from one back end db and the project managers will only see the forms/reports relevant to their project. I know I can use the project # as the primary key, but how would I go about making the front end databases only show information relevant to a certain project? I don't want them to have to enter their project number each time, I want it to automatically filter once they have entered their project information one time at job start-up. Do I have to go into each form at set up filters? Any advice on the best way to approach this is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,913
    Yes, each query/form/report must have filter parameter. The parameter can be a reference to a global variable that holds the project number or a textbox on a form that is always open (a main menu maybe). Set the variable or textbox when user logs in.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    You could use the Volume Label of the hard disk to determine which machine you were running on without asking the user any questions: http://access.mvps.org/access/general/gen0030.htm
    ...or use an API to get the local machine name on the network: http://access.mvps.org/access/api/api0009.htm

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,913
    I use VBA.Environ("USERNAME") - yes, exactly as shown - in VBA code to get the network id of user and API is not needed. Access doesn't recognize the Environ function so must be in VBA.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  5. #5
    rts is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    34
    Great! Thanks so much, I know my approach now!

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. vb.net setup
    By rafi in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-12-2011, 12:27 AM
  2. RE: Web database setup
    By abarin in forum Database Design
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-31-2011, 05:47 PM
  3. Best way to setup
    By griz47 in forum Access
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-17-2011, 12:59 AM
  4. Setup
    By aisza in forum Database Design
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-09-2011, 03:43 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-15-2011, 11:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums