Kristin is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Populate multiple records from information in another table

I am very new to Access. I have 2 tables. In the first I have Furniture items in the other I have the rooms that need the item(s). I would like to, use a form that will allow me to enter an item in the Furniture table and use that item to populate multiple rooms. For an example I have a Chair in the furniture Table ( this contain make model size color vendor...) I would like to tell the other "table Rooms" (containing type, function, assigned owner...) That the specific chair is in Room 1,2,3,4,5. Thanks.. I am a new.

I have tried it with a look up field where I can add multiple items. I can see the items listed in a field. Do I need to creat a new table to update so the records reflect room and item? I would do this via a query?
    Last edited by Kristin; 03-27-2012 at 08:04 AM. Reason: Been thinking

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    You will need a third table to hold the combination of furniture items and rooms (a room can have many furniture items and a furniture item can be in many rooms: many-to-many relationship)

I would recommend that you have a primary key field in all 3 tables. Here is a basic structure

tblRooms
    -pkRoomID primary key, autonumber
    other room related fields

tblFurnitureItems
    -pkFItemID primary key, autonumber
    -txtItemDescription

tblRoomFurniture
    -pkRoomFurnitureID primary key, autonumber
    -fkRoomID foreign key to tblRooms (this must be a long integer number datatype field)
    -fkFItemID foreign key to tblFurnitureItems (this must be a long integer number datatype field)

Kristin is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit