Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    7

    Text too long, error message

    Hi everyone,

    This forum is heaven sent.

    I'm having a problem inputing data into a cell.



    "03/09 Brighton: Cleaning services" (It's not much, well below the max of 255)

    The computer says NO, text too long. But then if I input even just a ".", it displays the same message.

    I'm having to record the info on a word doc, and it's driving me insane.

    I love Access, but yet I hate it too...

    Please help.

  2. #2
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    By cell I take it you mean field in a table or maybe a control on a form that is bound to a field in a table. What is the field type?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    7
    Excuse my computer language, I'm new to the game.

    Its a field in a form, text formatted?

    Do you think I'll be able to find someone in this forum who could make a bespoke database for a fee?

    I'm in charge of a database of 270 customers and counting. And I owe it to them to have the best database available.

    Queries is the way ahead for me. If only I knew what it all meant???

    Thanks ever so much for taking the time to help out.

    Your my hero!

  4. #4
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    If you want someone to do your project for you than I would recommend looking elsewhere because that can be a complicated subject. Are these 270 Customers on-line at the same time because that could be a problem by itself. Do you have a budget for the project yet?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    7
    My database isn't complicated in the slightest. It's just that little things aren't being done right.

    For example I'm keep getting a "Too many field's defined" error message popping up. It won't let me add additional forms (columns) in a table.

    It doesn't matter if my customers are on line or not ( I think ).

    My challenge is to match up contracts to my customers, depending on their location, industry and price range.

    Simple to someone who knows what they are doing, but rocket science to me!!!

  6. #6
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    By OnLine, I meant MultiUser OnLine to your Database. It sounds like that is not the case. With Access you need to think Tall and Skinny for tables rather than Short and Wide as you would in a spreadsheet. That is probably where you might be having problems. We can probably get your db in a more trustworth condition if you are willing to put in the time and effort. All it takes is time.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    7
    Oh Please help me get my db in a more trustworthy condition.
    I'm ready, eager and ready to put in all the time and effort it requires to make my database work.
    Thanks Allan

  8. #8
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    How big is your db? Is it too loaded with sensitive data to post here? We would need to see how you have your tables designed.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    7
    16 000 KB (Is that classed as small/medium or huge?)

    I'd be more than happy to post the db if I meant sorting out the problems.

    The only sensitve information is names, addresses and phone numbers.

    What do you suggest?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    7
    How will I be able to show you my table design?

  11. #11
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    Start with a backup of your db. Then in the copy delete all but say two records and then change the names and numbers. Zip it up and post it as an attachment to your post. That will tell us a lot about the database. Remember...backup...backup...backup. Did I mention backing up?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    7
    Thanks a million.

    Attached is what I'm working with now (Zipped), I've followed your instructions.

    I'm starting a new db from stratch, with the principle of tall & Thin, not short and long, thanks for that.

    I'm really enjoying it!!!

  13. #13
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    Here's a couple of links to Bookmark. Don't use special characters or spaces in names for any objects. I would also start by having an AutoNumber PrimaryKey in each table.
    http://support.microsoft.com/?id=826763
    http://www.allenbrowne.com/AppIssueBadWord.html

  14. #14
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    In a properly organized RDBMS, the data *only* exists in one table. You establish relationships by putting PrimaryKeys on other tables as ForeignKeys. You should read up on Normalization. Google can find you lots of free sites that describe Normalization. Here's a starter link.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. where do i start with this error message?
    By Student4Life in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2009, 04:12 PM
  2. FROM Clause error message
    By skylite in forum Queries
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-23-2008, 05:47 AM
  3. how long as this been around for.?
    By SOniC in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-12-2007, 11:38 PM
  4. "Overflow" error message.
    By joeferraro2000 in forum Queries
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-08-2007, 06:36 PM
  5. If / Then Error Message
    By Schwagr in forum Forms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-30-2006, 06:28 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums