marcsessoms is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Popup form

Hey guys.

I am relatively new to Access 2010 and self-taught. I began a project from very few fields in one table in a MS SQL database. It has now grown to several forms and several tables. I am still in the process of "normalizing" the database.

What I have run into is the 255 field limit in a query. The query selects records from different tables to populate a form with tab controls and sub-forms.

After googling and reading I think a way to fix this for now is to use popup forms for specific form access when it is needed and not pull the information into the main form after the records is selected. I had also tried researching to see if a separate query for each tab would work as well.

I am trying a popup form to test this theory. However, I am having an issue of the popup displaying the fields from the record I am currently on.

Parent Form = frmProject
    SubForm/PopForm = frmPOC_Popup
    Parent/Child ID = ProjectID

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    I ran into that same limit (also limit on number of controls on a form) and resolved both with tab controls and subforms on the tab pages.

Popup for new record will be harder to manage than the synchronized form/subform.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

You know, I tried that because what I read was that subforms WAS the way to go. However after adding subforms to my tabs. Everything was good until I added a new field to my sql tables and refreshed my links. I then get the "Too Many Fields Defined Error". I assume this is from the query, which populates my main form and subforms and has reached the limit.

Is there a trick to adding the subforms to each tab so that it isn't included in the main query?

June7 is online now VIP