Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    davidoakley is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2002 (version 10.0)
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5

    help with linked tables

    if i try to edit a field in a table im told that i can't because the table is linked. this database was not created by me, and all i want to know is where it is linked to. i've tried going to the linked table manager, but all the boxes are unchecked (possibly because this only updates links, as opposed to displaying current links, but i could be wrong). if someone could let me know how to find out what links exist between tables in this database or other databases that would be brilliant. i want this information so i can scrap unused databases and keep the ones which influence my useful databases.
    cheers!
    david.

  2. #2
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    The Linked Table Manager shows you the current links of all of the linked tables. I'm confused by your post. How can we help you?

  3. #3
    davidoakley is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2002 (version 10.0)
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5

    Smile

    well thats odd, because none of the boxes are checked in the Linked Table Manager, yet when I look at the table in design view, there is a red section of text which says "This property cannot be modified in linked tables" and i receive a prompt when entering design view which says "Table 'blah blah' is a linked table with some properties that can't be modified. Do you want to open it anyway?" Yet the Linked Table Manager has no boxes checked. I want to find out what other table this table is mysteriously linked to.
    i hope this clarifies my previous post, thanks for your help.
    david

  4. #4
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    The boxes in the Linked Table Manager are there so you can check the tables you want to change. Then you can check the box on the bottom "Always prompt for new location" and a dialog will open for you to locate a different BackEnd. In order to change a field in a table, you need to open the BackEnd directly rather than going through the FrontEnd of the application.

  5. #5
    davidoakley is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2002 (version 10.0)
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5
    right. so how do i locate those backends? are they the ones listed under the "machine data source tab" in the "select data source" window which appears if the "always prompt for new location" box is checked? because finding the location of these backends is really the crux of this whole exercise.
    thanks again.

  6. #6
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    What is displayed in the window to the right of your linked table?
    It probably starts with (C:\...

  7. #7
    davidoakley is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2002 (version 10.0)
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5
    ahhhh so thats the file its linked to. the system im using is a little bit more complex than having it linked to a local directory, so it doesn't actually display something of the form C:\...... and thats why i didn't recognise it.
    thanks a lot for you help, this narrows it down alot.
    david oakley.

  8. #8
    davidoakley is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2002 (version 10.0)
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5
    instead it says DSN=....... do you happen to know what DSN stands for?

  9. #9
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Here's a function you can put in a standard module and invoke from the immediate window:
    Code:
    Public Function ShowLinks()
       Dim I As Integer
       With CurrentDb
          For I = 0 To .TableDefs.COUNT - 1
             If Len(Trim(.TableDefs(I).Connect)) > 0 Then
                Debug.Print .TableDefs(I).SourceTableName
                Debug.Print .TableDefs(I).Connect
             End If
          Next
       End With
    End Function

  10. #10
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Quote Originally Posted by davidoakley View Post
    instead it says DSN=....... do you happen to know what DSN stands for?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Database_Source_Name

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Linked tables and ODBC connection strings
    By cwcadm in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-26-2009, 07:30 PM
  2. ODBC Linked Tables Become Unupdateable
    By dollardeveloper in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-08-2009, 07:13 AM
  3. Linked table to sql 2000 db
    By tcroninstl in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-23-2009, 07:27 PM
  4. Security and Linked Tables
    By bab133 in forum Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-13-2008, 02:11 PM
  5. Linked control in form
    By Zipster1967 in forum Forms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-14-2007, 01:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums