edl5 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Question edit control source in VBA error "The Text Is Too Long to Be Edited"

Hi,
    I am new to MS Access, I have only elementary knowledge. I have downloaded a template from Microsoft about inventory:
    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/te...i:TC010206882|

I would like to use this, however for some reasons beyond my knowledge I cannot change the number of characters in for item box.
    It is text, which means in theory I could type an item up to 255 characters, however I cannot type more than 50.

As soon as I type something longer or paste I get the error msg "The Text Is Too Long to Be Edited"

I cannot wrap my head around this due to my limited knowledge of programming in MS Access.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Possibly the field's Size property has been set to limit of 50 characters. This would have to be modified in the table design.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

edl5 is offline Novice
    I have tried that. There is no where mentioned 50. I tried to increase the size of the field, it is not affecting that magic number of 50 characters. So it has nothing to do to have wider filed, somehow, somewhere is specified the number of characters. I spent more than 3 hrs last night with no results.

I think it has to do with something with the programming code.

Funny I tried to input more than 50 characters, and none of the fields will accept, other than comment field.

I tried to copy comment field to item field, but Item field is required on the table, so the system requires it.

thanks

RayMilhon is offline VIP
    If you look at the table design in the bottom half of the screen it shows the size for each field. Look there.

June7 is offline VIP