Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

combo boxes

I have 5 fields of data.
    category
    description
    task code
    vbuild code
    pay rate

I cannot figure out how to program it to click on the category then the description list pops up for that category only. then the code for the above only, then the next code for that then pay rate.....

i tried combo boxed but it only would to 2 fields. Also, when i put them on my form the date was not being entered?

i want to be able to click one and it filter out all the way to the last one on a form. I want what is chosen (clicked on) to be entered to use for reports etc.

I am new to this degree of creating databases. Can anyone help?

alansidman is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    I think that you are referring to cascading combo boxes if I understand you.

Here is a link on how to achieve that:

http://www.fontstuff.com/access/acctut10.htm

donnan33 is offline Advanced Beginner
    thank you. I tried that. no good. it only chooses country city in this example. I need (if possible) to have 6 fields. when i click the first field it filters only what is relevant in the next field. but when the 2nd field is clicked i need it to display all rest of columns.

i have a spreadsheet where 4 columns the data is always the same. but i need it to be displayed/entered for every record. the user will only be entering a qty, category and description. i want when they click on description, it will display and enter, the task code, vbuild code, and cost. these will always be same depending on description. i want the task code and vbuild code and cost to always pop the date in there own fields when the relevant description is clicked. they will always be the same so is useless to type in or choose from list every time.
    Attached is a piece of my spread sheet. i hope you can help it's driving me crazy.

Understand. Here is what you need to do.