mark_87 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

Most likely dumb question about emailing a password protected database

Hi everyone,

Firstly, I'm a complete beginner to access so sorry if my question is ignortant! Nevertheless I have for the most part managed to struggled through to near completion of my database.

The only issue I'm encountering now is in relation to user names and passwords. I successfully created 4 different logons for my client but I've realised there is going to be an issue when emailing it to him. The Shortcut created to logon with is obviously only set up for my computer, so when I send it to someone else it's not going to work. Now I know personally how to go about sorting the shortcut, but my client is pretty computer illiterate and there is no chance they will be able to follow the steps to change it.

Is there any way to either make the shortcut update automatically for whichever computer it is on or alternatively have it all within the database file itself so no shortcut etc is needed?

Thank you for your help (and bare in mind I'm a complete beginner)

Toyman is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Quote Originally Posted by mark_87 View Post
    Hi everyone,

Firstly, I'm a complete beginner to access so sorry if my question is ignortant! Nevertheless I have for the most part managed to struggled through to near completion of my database.

The only issue I'm encountering now is in relation to user names and passwords. I successfully created 4 different logons for my client but I've realised there is going to be an issue when emailing it to him. The Shortcut created to logon with is obviously only set up for my computer, so when I send it to someone else it's not going to work. Now I know personally how to go about sorting the shortcut, but my client is pretty computer illiterate and there is no chance they will be able to follow the steps to change it.