WeeTerrier is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

Search Form - Cascading Combo Boxes

Hi,

I am new to Access, VBA and SQL so I'm afraid so the answer to my question may be very obvious...

I'm in the process of creating a search form based on a single table. My search form has 2 combo boxes. The first contains the field names from the table (cboSearchField). I was hoping that depending on which field is selected in the first combo box the second box (cboSearchText) would update itself so that users can start typing the text they want to search for (e.g. a product name) but then select it from a list (to minimise spelling errors etc). However I'm struggling with getting the second box to update.

I have tried the following query in the row source for the second combo box:

SELECT tblProducts.ProductID, tblProducts.ProductName
    FROM tblProducts
    WHERE (((tblProducts.ProductID)=[Forms]![SearchBox2]![cboSearchField]));

I have also added the following code into the "After Update" section on the Event tab for the first combo box:

Private Sub cboSearchField_AfterUpdate()
    Me.cboSearchText.Requery
    End Sub

But the second combo box remains blank. Can anyone help me? Am I on the right track?

Any advice appreciated.

Toyman is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    How many columns do you have in cboSearchField? If it has more than one columns, make sure the "bound column" setting for the combo box is set correctly pointing to the correct column that contains the value for the query

Windows XP Access 2003
    Both the "Column Count" and "Bound Column" are set to 1.

Quote Originally Posted by WeeTerrier View Post
    Both the "Column Count" and "Bound Column" are set to 1.
    Try this in the after update event of the first combo box to see if it works:

Dim sString as String
    Dim sSql as String

sString = Me.cboSearchField
    sSql = "SELECT tblProducts.ProductID, tblProducts.ProductName "