austinres is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

Moving from Excel to Access

Hi all,

I am very new to the Access world, and I am hoping to get some help here in how to get started. I have a shared spreadsheet that is saved on our company's server. This spreadsheet houses large amounts of data for individuals. Multiple users (4 to 10) access this spreadsheet simultaneously; they read through the information for each person, then input 2 fields:

(1) Y or N
    (2) 1-2 sentences of notes

This spreadsheet has become too large that it has lost functionality within excel. It has become unbearably slow to scroll, sort, or filter, and when they try to save the spreadsheet with their input, it regularly locks them out even though it's shared.

My understanding is that Access is the preferable platform for a spreadsheet of this size (~200 MB). I have never used Access, and right now, it is not intuitive to me.

The basic needs we have are the ability to:

1. filter fields to only show specific data
    2. sort fields so that all data is shown in a specific order
    3. multiple users to access the same data
    4. multiple users to save their input to a central location (meaning that when I open this file, all of the users' input is shown in one place)
    5. The ability for me to add new individuals and their data to the file regularly

The excel spreadsheet is set up in this way:

Checker_Decision_Notes_PersonID_FirstName_LastName _Deadline_Notes

Checker: the user's initials are here
    Decision: Y/N
    Notes: 1-2 sentences

PersonID: the individuals' Person ID - this is a unique identifier of each row
    The remaining fields are all information on the Individual (Person ID)

Does this seem like a possible transition to Access? Could Access meet these needs without functioning as slow as excel?

Thank you for any help you can provide.

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Welcome to the forum!