Page 12 of 16 FirstFirst ... 2345678910111213141516 LastLast
Results 166 to 180 of 232
  1. #166
    Rainlover's Avatar
    Rainlover is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    691

    You have a Button for Close. I click on it and it saya do you want to close.

    Of course I want to close. That is why I clicked on the button.

    Just because you know how to Pop up a question box is not reason to do it. Users will soon get sick of this. Microsoft went overboard in VISTA with this idea. They droped it in Windows 7. Suggest you do the same.

  2. #167
    JFo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    393
    Quote Originally Posted by Rainlover View Post
    You have a Button for Close. I click on it and it saya do you want to close.

    Of course I want to close. That is why I clicked on the button.

    Just because you know how to Pop up a question box is not reason to do it. Users will soon get sick of this. Microsoft went overboard in VISTA with this idea. They droped it in Windows 7. Suggest you do the same.
    Yes I immediately disabled UAC whenever I had to use Vista

    I will only be using it when the data is to be saved to the database or adding new (add to list/ opening another form etc)

    Thanks

  3. #168
    Rainlover's Avatar
    Rainlover is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    691
    Adding a piece of equipment to an inspection, this is difficult for me as want to use combos but can't figure out logic

    Works for me. What is the problem.

    As far as the rest is concerned you need to give much more detail. I cannot see where your problem exist let alone give advise.

    You have not written enough comments as to what each piece of code does. This does not help me and in 12 months time you would have forgotten. So at lease write something to help yourself down the track.

  4. #169
    JFo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    393
    Another thing is with the error catching before I entered all the code for error catching if there was a problem in my code then access would open the debugger and take me straight to the line or section of code, with the error checking I have implemented it just give me a msg box, sometimes ambiguous. I actually don't put in the error checking code until after

    Maybe this is an Access 2010 functionality?

    Cheers

  5. #170
    Rainlover's Avatar
    Rainlover is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    691
    Go to the mdlErrorHandler.

    Change this line

    Public Const conHandleErrors As Boolean = True 'False

    with

    Public Const conHandleErrors As Boolean = False

    Change back to True when you finish the project.

    The purpose of this Error Handler is to prevent a user having Access to the Code.

  6. #171
    JFo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    393
    Adding a piece of equipment to an inspection, this is difficult for me as want to use combos but can't figure out logic

    Works for me. What is the problem.


    Mostly layout issues I think, I want to be able to search to add equipment by EquipmentType, Client, EquipmentNo, Description etc

    Can't properly cascade combo boxes in subform and if I have all in one combo box they don't show up in datasheet view

    Thanks

  7. #172
    JFo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    393
    Other questions

    Adding the correct EquipInspectID to tblResults

    Cannot get correct EquipInspectID need to get this from the 2 addequiptoinspection combos I think I need code where InspectionID of combo 1 and EquipmentID of combo 2 = those in tblEquipmentInspectionJunction than that is the EquipInspectID

  8. #173
    Rainlover's Avatar
    Rainlover is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    691
    Have a look at the search abilities in the attached Database.

  9. #174
    Rainlover's Avatar
    Rainlover is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    691
    Quote Originally Posted by JFo View Post
    Other questions

    Adding the correct EquipInspectID to tblResults

    Cannot get correct EquipInspectID need to get this from the 2 addequiptoinspection combos I think I need code where InspectionID of combo 1 and EquipmentID of combo 2 = those in tblEquipmentInspectionJunction than that is the EquipInspectID
    More hints. Which form are you talking about.

  10. #175
    JFo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    393
    Not adding multiple instances to the same table, for example if I select the client or Inspector in table inspection or client in tblEquipment it seems to add the selection as a duplicate in the table I am selecting from

    In tblInspection if you add new Inspection and select an Inspector and a Client then look in tblClient and tblInspectors and it adds in them as well when I only want to add to tblInspection

    Thx

  11. #176
    JFo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    393
    The checklist shows random behaviour

    How do you find the frmChecklist's behaviour? It seems to have random behaviour (does not do the same thing everytime)

    too many questions at a time or if you open davit inspection it justs loops the same question over and over.
    I only want to show each question once

    I would also like to limit the amount of questions per page
    How can I show for example 5 questions a page and then 8 on second page, etc?

  12. #177
    JFo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    393
    Quote Originally Posted by Rainlover View Post
    More hints. Which form are you talking about.
    frmChecklist (record source tblResults) sub which opens from frmAddEquipmentToInspection (which has the combos)

    Thanks

  13. #178
    JFo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    393
    Quote Originally Posted by Rainlover View Post
    Have a look at the search abilities in the attached Database.
    Yes I will need to develop a search engine like this for reporting and data retrieval means

    Thanks for the db, I may use some of this code

  14. #179
    Rainlover's Avatar
    Rainlover is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    691
    I see Question 1 etc.

    I thought you were going to display the actual question.

    Am I wrong.

  15. #180
    Rainlover's Avatar
    Rainlover is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Queensland Australia
    Posts
    691
    frmAddEquipmentToInspection

    Why do you have this form. Why not add the equipment Questions when you select the equipment in frmInspections

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Coding question
    By kzoli62 in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-04-2011, 05:09 PM
  2. Combo Box Coding
    By Hale in forum Forms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 10:56 AM
  3. Coding for Empty Combo Box
    By gazzieh in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-26-2010, 05:22 PM
  4. Button Coding
    By yamie in forum Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 10:45 AM
  5. Bar-Coding
    By texasprincess7 in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-12-2009, 10:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums