Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 64
  1. #16
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,518


    Quote Originally Posted by tobydobo View Post
    this did not seem to save any data. Any ideas ?
    From the link:

    In the textbox, instead of the formula as the control source, you'd list the field in the Orders table where you wanted the phone number saved.

    Did you do that?
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  2. #17
    tobydobo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    169
    yes! That sounds very close. I would love to have you look at my data, but some of it is protected by the company. What parts would you like to look at?

  3. #18
    tobydobo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    169
    @pbaldy: Yes I "tried" that, but I must have done something wrong as it did not work. Could you provide steps in more detail?

  4. #19
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,518
    Is the code behind the combo putting the correct value in the textbox, and it's just not getting saved? If so, you just need to set the control source property of the textbox to the appropriate field in the table. It should be available in the dropdown.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  5. #20
    tobydobo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    169
    will it allow me to select more than one field to save to?

  6. #21
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,518
    As mentioned earlier, no. A control can only be bound to a single field. If you have more than one, you'll need more than one textbox.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  7. #22
    tobydobo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    169
    So confused now, because I was able to "display" all the required info to multiple fields using a single drop-down using the info you provided. Now I just want to be able to save the data that it displays into a new record.

  8. #23
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,518
    I assume when you displayed it you had multiple textboxes with:

    =ComboName.Column(x)

    Now you need a line in code for each one like:

    Me.TextboxName = Me.ComboName.Column(x)

    and change the control source of each textbox to be the field name instead of the formula. You would still have the single dropdown.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  9. #24
    tobydobo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    169
    ok so I would enter that syntax for each of the text boxes, or in the 'after event' control of the combo box?

  10. #25
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,518
    The after update event of the combo, which would then look like:

    Me.FirstTextbox = Me.ComboName.Column(1)
    Me.SecondTextbox = Me.ComboName.Column(2)
    Me.ThirdTextbox = Me.ComboName.Column(3)
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  11. #26
    tobydobo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    169
    and that will save it too then right?

  12. #27
    tobydobo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    169
    and how do you seperate each line? Is it by a ";"?

  13. #28
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,518
    Nothing separates the lines. It will look exactly like I posted, with the names changed of course. They will all save as long as the textboxes have the appropriate fields as their control source.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  14. #29
    tobydobo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    169
    I tried it just with one text field as a test...but nothing auto-populated. So to summarize: I changed the control source of the text box back to what it was called....then went to properties of the combo box, went to the event tab, and entered: me.site type=me.combo466.column(2), then saved. Clicked open new record on my form, selected a site from the drop down, but nothing populated the 'site type' field. Is there something else Im missing?

  15. #30
    tobydobo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    169
    should the combo box remain unbound?

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-05-2011, 01:55 PM
  2. Auto Populate two fields
    By funkygoorilla in forum Access
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-31-2011, 09:06 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-07-2010, 12:32 PM
  4. auto populate mutiple fields
    By jomoan58 in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-23-2010, 01:03 PM
  5. Auto-Populate Combo box
    By vincenoir in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-14-2009, 07:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums