luce725 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Custom Autonumber based on lookup

I am re-creating an access database to include several years of data and would like to change the way the autonumbers work.

The sales year needs to be noted in the ID number but the sales year isn't the same as a calendar year.

For Example the 1st record for sales year 12 should have the id SY12-0001

Sales year 2012 is from 10/1/11 - 9/30/12

I have a table for Sales year dates (tbl_sales year dates) thinking I may be able to use it in a lookup function.

My main table to house each record (tbl_tracker) has the following fields:

ID
    Sales Year
    Start Date
    Record ID

My inital thought is if there a way to code the Sales Year field to lookup the sales year based on the Start date and the sales year time frames in the tbl_sales year dates (similar to a vlookup in excel), then concatenate the Sales Year and ID in the Record ID field.

Can someone help? I am not very good with VBA (can edit fairly well but not proficient at writing it)

I appreciate any thoughts!

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    So you have a bunch of existing records and you want to create an artificial numbering system so you have sequential items rather than using the autonumber key?

I assume the 'start date' field is the date of the sale?
    recording the sales year is redundant and not necessary

so really what it comes down to is that you have a table like this:

Code:
    tbl_tracker
    ID (autonumber)
    StartDate (date/time, date of the sale?)
    RecordID (you want to populate this with your artificial numbering system)

tbl_Tracker
    ID StartDate RecordID
    1  1/2/2011  
    2  4/1/2011
    3  3/1/2011
    4  1/15/2010
    now the question is, how do you want your existing items numbered?