Aneta is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

How to show monthly % allocation in database

Dear All,
    I am an Access beginner and desperately need some help.
    I am trying to create a database which will show who is working on projects. The thing is, usually each person is involved in more than just one project, so I need to be able to show the, for example:
    in August person X was allocated 10% on Project 1 and 80% on Project 1, which means that there is 10% available to be allocated elsewhere.

I'd need my reports to look more less like the attached example.

The problem I have is I have no clue as to how to show person’s monthly allocation in %. Do I need and extra table for year 2010, where each entry would be a month to be filled in with % and then make and relationship to a person?

Please, could you enlighten me?

Thank you in advance!

Aneta

LillMcGill is offline Dagny fan
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    tblProjects to store attributes of projects. PK might be ProjectID
    tblEmployees to store attributes of employees, including salary. PK might be EmployeeID
    tblEmployeeProjects should contain ProjectID, EmployeeID, a field for the period begin. (Personally, I would use a Date/Time data type and for data entry use the first day of the month.) Also need an Allocation field... Number data type, Field Size=Single. Format=Percent.

Added: that report looks to be a Crosstab query.
    Last edited by LillMcGill; 08-18-2011 at 11:31 AM. Reason: added

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003