SltPhx is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit

Thumbs up Formatting Unbound Control

Hello All,
    I am new to access and have been sitting with an issue since 3-4 days. Do let me know if my concept is wrong or if there's a better way to tackle this issue...

I have a form that displays calculations of PASS and FAIL. So the PASS control button is unbound and is displayed as 98% if it is a whole number and if it is a decimal it dispays as 84.3333333333333 (13 decimal places and no percent symbol) whereas FAIL(bound) has the control source of 1-PASS, Format-> Percent and Decimal Place -> 2. Values for FAIL are displayed accurately as I want it.. for eg: 2.00%, 15.67% etc.

Calculations for PASS is done in the 'on click' event of a 'Show Statistics' command button. These results are not stored in any table.

I hope my question is clear.. Please let me know what's wrong .. and how to correct it. Thanks much for your time and help...

Warmest Regards,
    SLTPHX

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    So you're saying when you open your form the values for FAIL are being stored with extra digits that you do not want to see in your table? or that on your form your PASS number is showing extra decimals you do not want?

If it's the former you can do something about it but there's no real reason to, you can display the percentage however you want in queries/reports.

If it's the latter you have to apply the same format as you did to your bound column.

Hello,
    Thanks for the quick response.

When I open the form both PASS control and FAIL control are empty.
    When I click on 'Show Statistics'.. The PASS control displays the correct value but not format - No percent symbol and upto 13 decimal places.
    FAIL control displays the results as I want.. 2 decimal places and % symbol. So no issues with FAIL control.