Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    jbataille86 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2

    Table drop down list filter


    Hello,

    I need help with a database that I am setting up that will be uploaded to sharepoint. This is an access 2007 db.

    In my database I have the following tables (no forms/reports/or queries except for queries nested in the tables):
    Employees
    Accounts
    Projects - NOTE: in the Projects table I have an Accounts column which is has a one to many relation with the accounts table, and it's doing a lookup from the accounts table]
    Time Reporting
    ____________________

    My problem is with the setting up the time reporting table.

    In the time reporting table I have the following columns:

    AccountID [Drop down list - lookup from accounts table, ProjectID lookup from projects], Employee, etc.

    I need to find a way to set it up so that when a user goes to report time:

    And selects an accountID from the drop down list, when they click on the projects drop down list, they only see projects for the account that they have selected.

    I am looking for any insight that I can find.

  2. #2
    orange's Avatar
    orange is online now Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    15,220
    You should be using Forms. Do not let users interact directly with Tables.

    In this scenario (user has been vetted to logon)
    you'd have a combo for AccountID/Accounts,
    that combo selection would limit the ProjectId/Projects available

    Look up cascading combo boxes for more info.
    See http://www.datapigtechnologies.com/f...combobox1.html and
    http://www.datapigtechnologies.com/f...combobox2.html
    Last edited by orange; 08-04-2011 at 08:10 AM.

  3. #3
    jbataille86 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2
    Hello, I was planning on making forms, but I was curious to see if there was anyways to do this via tables only.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-16-2011, 09:30 PM
  2. No drop down list in Access?
    By snorkyller in forum Forms
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-21-2011, 03:28 PM
  3. Filter available values in a drop down list
    By petitmorsalin in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-13-2010, 09:39 AM
  4. drop down list
    By tceicher in forum Access
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-13-2009, 05:41 AM
  5. I can't create a drop-down list box
    By cpuser in forum Access
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-18-2008, 10:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums