Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    refryguy is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    5

    Combo/List Boxes

    Does anyone have a code to be able to scroll through a Combo Box or List Box with the arrow keys without having to open the list. I can scroll up and down if I open the list no problem but I'd like to be able to just start typing the value and scroll if possible.

    Basically I have some values that start off with similar wording, for example my list has:

    Plumbing Service
    Plumbing Commercial
    HVAC Service
    HVAC Commercial



    I'd like to be able to just start typing Plumb...and then use the arrow key to select the value. I tried some different macros but it only works when the entire drop down is showing.

    Thanks,

    Refry

  2. #2
    rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5,441
    a combo box behaves the way you are asking with no additional coding required. if you were to type plumb in your example (assuming they were organized the way you have them) the first plumbing item would be found then if you hit the down arrow on the combo box you could search from there.

    List boxes behave differently and are probably not what you want for what you've described.

  3. #3
    refryguy is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    5
    Thanks for the quick reply. True, I can arrow down but only if the Combo Box or List Box is dropped down. I'd like to be able to arrow up and down without having to open the drop down all the way.

    I have tried as both a List Box an Combo Box but neither seems to work unless I pull the entire list down.

  4. #4
    rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5,441
    I don't know if this will work as a solution but you can put this in the on enter property of your combobox

    Me.cboMyCombo.Dropdown

    It will automatically open the dropdown (or should) then I don't know what the behavior would be (I didn't test) you may be able to start typing then use your down arrows to scroll.

    Here's where I plagarized it from:

    http://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/scr...-t1122141.html

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-04-2014, 10:45 AM
  2. List boxes and tables
    By beejay101 in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-21-2011, 10:36 AM
  3. HELP! using list boxes with multiselect
    By tarhim47 in forum Forms
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-08-2010, 02:51 PM
  4. List Boxes.
    By Willtc in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-12-2010, 04:12 AM
  5. List box to populate other list boxes
    By Nathan in forum Forms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-03-2009, 07:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums