Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    sainttomn's Avatar
    sainttomn is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    2 Gangster Planets and a Cowboy World
    Posts
    12

    Combo Box Determines Radio Button Selected

    Hi all,

    I currently have a Table that is affected by 2 Forms. Form1 is a Data Entry Form, alowing new records to be added, and this works just as I need it to.

    Form2 is a Data Adjustment Form. It allows the user to view all the records in the table in a GUI manner and make changes to several Option Groups.

    On Form1, the user selects a radio button in each Option Group, which populates a Text Box with a speciic value ("Met" for example).

    On Form2, when I open a record, the Combo Box shows the selected value ("Met" as above), but does not re-select the radio button in the corresponding Option Group.

    I would like to know if it is possible to direct the Option Group, or the Radio Button to be selected and change with the value of the Combo Box.

    I've tried a few things, but I'm not getting results.

    Any help is very appreciated,
    -Tomn

  2. #2
    rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5,442
    Are you storing the data that you enter in the option groups? or are you performing some sort of conversion and only storing the MET string?

    If you're just storing the string and you want to show it as it was originally entered (in option groups) you will have to reverse-engineer what the MET means in terms of your option groups then give the option groups on your editing form the correct value.

  3. #3
    sainttomn's Avatar
    sainttomn is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    2 Gangster Planets and a Cowboy World
    Posts
    12
    Thank you for your reply. I'm using some code to convert the data to a string. My queries are based on substrings to have the value give me both a "Met" score and a numeric score.

    For Example:
    Code:
    Private Sub GreetOption_AfterUpdate()
    Select Case GreetOption.Value
    Case 1
    GreetMNN.Value = "Met    5"
    Label92.BackStyle = 1
    Label92.BackColor = 3329330
    Label94.BackStyle = 0
    Label96.BackStyle = 0
    Label98.BackStyle = 0
    Case 2
    GreetMNN = "Not Met  0"
    Label92.BackStyle = 0
    Label94.BackStyle = 1
    Label94.BackColor = 3937500
    Label96.BackStyle = 0
    Label98.BackStyle = 0
    Case 3
    GreetMNN = "N/A    5"
    Label92.BackStyle = 0
    Label94.BackStyle = 0
    Label96.BackStyle = 1
    Label96.BackColor = 3329330
    Label98.BackStyle = 0
    Case 4
    GreetMNN = "Not Met 2.5"
    Label92.BackStyle = 0
    Label94.BackStyle = 0
    Label96.BackStyle = 0
    Label98.BackStyle = 1
    Label98.BackColor = 3937500
    End Select
    End Sub
    I'll have to give this some thought and see if a reverse engineered solution is my best bet. It seems like it, but I may be able to get away with it how it is now, and adjusting how it looks on the form.

    I think I'd rather figure out the code to have it convert the string back to match the variable, but I'm stil rather new at Access.

    Thank you for your help, I'll post my findings shortly.

  4. #4
    rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5,442
    If you can post a sample of your database that would be helpful. I can't tell from this small piece of code what's going on in your database.

  5. #5
    sainttomn's Avatar
    sainttomn is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    2 Gangster Planets and a Cowboy World
    Posts
    12
    Sorry I haven't replied to this thread in a few days. My projects were shifted and I haven't had a chance to continue work on the database. I'll see if I can remove the branding and attach a sample shortly.

    Thank you,

  6. #6
    sainttomn's Avatar
    sainttomn is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    2 Gangster Planets and a Cowboy World
    Posts
    12
    Hi all, I was able to solve this issue with an additional text box and some VBA code.

    Thank you for your help. I'm working on a few other things regarding this issue, but the question I had has been solved.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-17-2011, 04:26 PM
  2. radio button and checkbox
    By Fifa in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-19-2011, 10:20 AM
  3. Radio Button Select in WebBrowser
    By access_man in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-27-2010, 05:29 PM
  4. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-26-2010, 03:38 PM
  5. Select Radio Button and another one turns off
    By Lockrin in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-09-2010, 02:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums