AlisonP is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Data entry subform: how to add a field in the record but not on subform

Hi, I am a newbie to Access VB programming, much enjoying the learning process. I have a question that may be simple but I have been unable to find the answer in my usual resources. I have a form that has one unbound control where the user enters a SampleCode. The VB code behind that control does a number of validation checks. Then the user enters multiple records of data for that SampleCode on a subform. When each record is written to the table from the subform, I want to include in each record the SampleCode from atop the main form. I understand how to get the SampleCode from the main form, but I haven't been able to figure out how to put it in the data table associated with the subform. How to do that? Looks like one way that I can do it is to put a control on the subform, and set it to visible = false (and make sure that tabbing skips it?), and then populate it in the VB code for that control in the subform. Is that the right way to do it? Is there a better way? Thanks for any advice.

khalid is offline MS-Access Developer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    I have a form that has one unbound control where the user enters a SampleCode. The VB code behind that control does a number of validation checks.
    your question is not clear.... what code you want to enter? and why???

Then the user enters multiple records of data for that SampleCode on a subform. When each record is written to the table from the subform, I want to include in each record the SampleCode from atop the main form.
    What is the purpose of inserting the code to every record???
    Is there a field in your table to save this samplecode to your table????

Windows XP Access 2007
    [QUOTE=khalid;66755]your question is not clear.... what code you want to enter? and why???

What is the purpose of inserting the code to every record???