prstoessel is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003

Migrating

Hello all. I am somewhat new to Access and have a few questions.

My whole company uses Access 2003. More and more, we are seeing a need to upgrade. We have a very elaborate system of queries and macros and such that are all vital to our everyday business needs. The problem seems to be that if we purchase Access 2010, we cannot import all those queries neatly (or at all).

Would it be easier to import our stuff into 2007 first, and then into 2010?

Is there much practicality in doing this migration, or should we just look at re-writing everything in SQL?

Thanks for your input.

boblarson is offline --------
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Quote Originally Posted by prstoessel View Post
    The problem seems to be that if we purchase Access 2010, we cannot import all those queries neatly (or at all).
    I guess I am confused by that statement. What can't you import?
    Would it be easier to import our stuff into 2007 first, and then into 2010?
    No, it woudn't.

Is there much practicality in doing this migration, or should we just look at re-writing everything in SQL?
    Not sure what you mean by that statement because Access is still the user interface if you mean migrating to SQL Server. I guess we need more information about your system, what it is doing, what challenges you seem to be having and how your database currently actually works. What does it do? What are these challenging queries you seem to have an issue with?

ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    The problem seems to be that if we purchase Access 2010, we cannot import all those queries neatly (or at all).
    Adding to Bob's wonderful comments, which they always are():