Yesideez is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Late Database Design - Problems

Hi,

A friend has a business and has asked me to help modernise things a little and although I've been using MySQL databases for almost 10 years Access is new and I'm not sure what would be the best course of action here.

He currently has a database with two tables:

properties
    6,687 records
    35 fields

worklog
    12,828 records
    22 fields

Currently don't have a relationship (he set this database up himself when he first started his business several years ago and didn't know about relationships) but along with normalising the data and linking worklog to properties using Property ID I'm not sure what would be the best and possibly easiest way to go about "fixing" all his current data.

The big problem is, as he's been using this database over the years when he's wanted to link a property with the maintenance work logs he's manually used "Find" to find them using postcode and house name/number - VERY tedious as you can imagine.

The property address in the properties table is currently stored in one memo field - I'm wanting to split this into address (memo) and postcode (text) and build the relationship by Property ID but not sure what would be the best way to do this.

The only way I can think of so far is to export to MySQL and write a PHP script to run through and re-populate two new tables (as they're wanted in the new Access database then import into Access.

Is there an easier way than this?

pkstormy is offline Access/SQL Server Expert
    Windows XP Access 2003
    What are all the fields in each table that could be used to create a concatened key that would match in both tables? Typically if you want to link on a field, you don't want to make it a memo type (difficult to do a join on).