jfn15 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

Question Updatable & editable subform?

I am completely new to db/access. I am trying to build my 1st db in access2003. I have tables created, and linked as below. I need to create a main form that users can enter data about new permit holders, and within that form I also want to be able to assign data to each permit holder, from other tables (specifically tbl_animal, tbl_species, tbl_category) I need the user to be able to enter permit holder (or applicant) details and also list the various animals (and their relevant species and category). I imagine I'll need to use a combo box where users can select species by the scientific name, and then have 2 text boxes that populate with common name and category id. I also want to be able to enter how many of each species they own, and gender, animal identification etc. As this data comes from 3 other tables (tbl_animal, tbl_species & tbl_category), how do I create a subform that can be edited, updated and which also updates when a new application is added?
    Hope this makes sense - and I hope I have the tables set up correctly. Tables are linked as follows:
    tbl_main (app-id), other contact details columns etc.
    tbl_animal has animal_id as primary key, also species_id, and other relevant fields (quantity, gender, desexed, etc.)
    tbl_species has species_id as primary key, also category_id, and other relevant fields (scientific_name, common_name etc.)
    tbl_category has category_id and category_desc.