Onesimus is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

Query results not correct in Access, correct in Excel

Hi All

I am an Access newbie. I am running Access 2003, using linked tables from another database called MAILman ( a database used by not-for-profit organisations in Australia). When I run a query in Access e.g. APPEAL = "XMAS2010" And DONORTYPE = "Donor Current", the results that appear after I press the Run Query button are not correct (e.g. a donor type other other than "Donor Current and/or an appeal other than XMAS2010 will appear in the results) ... but when I export the results as an Excel spreadsheet, the search results are correct. It seems I am doing something wrong ... but what?

Onesimus

RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Would you post the SQL for your Access query please?

Windows XP Access 2003
    Hi RuralGuy

The SQL as requested:

SELECT dbo_A_CurrentContactTypes.ContactTypeDescription, dbo_A_Contact_ContactDetails.FName, dbo_A_Contact_ContactDetails.LName, dbo_A_Contact_ContactDetails.CompName, dbo_A_Contact_ContactDetails.Town, dbo_A_Contact_ContactDetails.State, dbo_A_Contact_ContactDetails.PostalCode, dbo_Donations.ActivityCode, dbo_Donations.DonationValue
    FROM (dbo_A_CurrentContactTypes INNER JOIN dbo_A_Contact_ContactDetails ON dbo_A_CurrentContactTypes.ContactId = dbo_A_Contact_ContactDetails.ContactID) INNER JOIN dbo_Donations ON dbo_A_CurrentContactTypes.ContactId = dbo_Donations.ContactID
    WHERE (((dbo_A_CurrentContactTypes.ContactTypeDescriptio n)="Donor Current") AND ((dbo_Donations.ActivityCode)="TAX2011"));

The result inside Access did show an Activity Code other than TAX2011 - but the spreadsheet result was correct.

Onesimus

Nothing unusual in the SQL that I can see. Is the system patch level up to date?

Windows XP Access 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by RuralGuy View Post
    Nothing unusual in the SQL that I can see. Is the system patch level up to date?