Results 1 to 3 of 3

"Automatically" populate UserID & Password for ODBC

  1. #1
    jgelpi16 is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    544

    Question "Automatically" populate UserID & Password for ODBC

    I have a DB that runs weekly to pull in data from a few ODBC connections. Every time the DB is open I get prompted to enter my UserID and Password for the ODBC connection. I would like to store my UserID and Password in a table and when prompted have the DB look in the table and provide the necessary password and UserID. Any help/tips is much appreciated!

  2. #2
    NTC is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,392
    that would a tough approach I am thinking off hand.

    haven't had the need to dig into odbc connection syntax in a long time - - is there an area for password in the connection string itself? just wondering outloud.

    obviously getting security permission from the otherside so the prompt isn't there would be the solid fix but am guessing that may be out of your hands...

    sorry not to be more helpful on this one.

  3. #3
    jgelpi16 is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    544
    Quote Originally Posted by NTC View Post
    that would a tough approach I am thinking off hand.

    haven't had the need to dig into odbc connection syntax in a long time - - is there an area for password in the connection string itself? just wondering outloud.

    obviously getting security permission from the otherside so the prompt isn't there would be the solid fix but am guessing that may be out of your hands...

    sorry not to be more helpful on this one.
    Turned out to be a very simple approach. Thanks for the tip! Below is the solution.

    Code:
    DoCmd.TransferDatabase acLink, "ODBC Database", _
        "ODBC;DSN=[Enter ODBC Server];UID=[User2];PWD=[Password];" _
        & "DATABASE=pubs", acTable, [Enter ODBC Table Name], [Enter Name of Table in Access]

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. ComboBox "Select" and "DLookUp"
    By witooldas in forum Forms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-23-2011, 03:31 AM
  2. "Group By" causes "ODBC--Call Failed" error
    By kaledev in forum Queries
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-09-2011, 02:43 PM
  3. change field to "password" type
    By ducecoop in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-11-2010, 12:02 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-19-2009, 08:37 AM
  5. aSTR = Dir("C:\*.*") >> "Type Mismatch"
    By JGrant in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-28-2009, 05:17 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Tech Forums: Microsoft Office Forums