dragonfly is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007

Question Connect to a database on my website

Hello;

What I'm trying to do is save my database somewhere so 3 of us can work in the file simultaneously however the only thing we have in common is the Internet.

I've saved our access 2007 database to my website. My hosting plan says "As a customer hosted on the Windows platform, you can automatically connect to any Access database stored within your web directory. To do so, you'll need to embed a connection string in the body of any script that needs to talk to a database."

I'm not sure what to do with this information - I'm not a coder but what I would like to do is have an access database on my desktop that links to the data tables stored on the website.

Could you please provide me instructions on how I could accomplish this?

I hope I'm explaining myself clearly enough. Thank you for your time in reading my post.

ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by dragonfly View Post
    I've saved our access 2007 database to my website.
    so that means you have it sitting in a server folder, right??

Quote Originally Posted by dragonfly View Post
    My hosting plan says "As a customer hosted on the Windows platform, you can automatically connect to any Access database stored within your web directory. To do so, you'll need to embed a connection string in the body of any script that needs to talk to a database."
    that doesn't say anything. And as a matter of fact, web hosting companies are HORRIBLE at explaining what to do with any of this type of stuff. Who do you have?? GoDaddy?? Regardless of who you have though, calling the call center and asking about connection strings isn't going to do you any good because no one at those levels is going to know what to do (or even what a connection string is, for that matter).