ronocoo is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Creating a Form without a Table

Is it possible to create a form without a table? What about a form with unrelated tables?

Does it require me to know any coding, SQL? I'm not very technical with Access so hopefully I made myself as clear as possible.

Thanks

nicknameoscar is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2000
    Maybe it would be better if you described what you are trying to do.

The answer to your question is yes, you can have forms not bound to a table or query. I can't remember if the form is said to be "unbound" or it is the controls in/on the form that are considered to be "unbound".

Anyway, I am not sure how the form would be useful if macros or VBA code or SQL wasn't used to either put data into the form controls or save data entered into the form controls. Maybe I am wrong.

Thanks Nick. Ah, yes. That's exactly what I'm trying to do. I want to create an unbound form that allows me to enter data. I'm trying to create a form for monthly cash projections.

Basically, I have five unrelated tables that contain different categories of transactions. The form should have the flexibility to allow me to enter the classes within the categories.

Is there a wizard that allows me to do this? I may have to create it using the blank form?

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007
    You want one form to serve as data entry for 5 tables? These 5 tables are alike - same fields? If so, should be one table with another field for the category identifier. Then the form could be bound to the one table. Data entry is direct to table. Simple, no code.

Otherwise will need code to make the form functional for multiple like tables.