flwrgrl is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

Track Production using linked table from QODBC

I am a complete newbie to Access. I have been trying to create my production database for months, to no avail. Here is my situation:

I work in a job shop foundry where we base all of our production on the customers specific orders. We have ~ 6500 items, ~400 customers, and usually ~ 100-200 items on order at a give time. A very small business.

We use QuickBooks for all order entry and invoicing.

I have a successful QODBC link (read-only), allowing me to view all orders in Access using the SalesOrderLine table. I have created a query to parse out the info I want from that over-blown table. The query currently has ~ 75 line items that are on order. There is a Primary Key in the SalesOrderLine table. I won't be able to type it in as it is too long and clumsy, but it does give each line item its own key.

This is what I want to track:

When we recieve an order for multiple pieces of one item, we have to make it, usually over several days' time. (If I can figure that out, I will dive into tracking the shipping of the castings, which, I theorize will be similar to tracking production.) By knowing how many pieces are left to make and their due dates, we could also ease the process of scheduling the next day's production.

Here are my issues: