Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    rcrobman is offline Not Expert Yet!
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    73

    Help!! - Corrupted Module

    I was working on designing the db yesterday and somehow it appears that the code behind the windows/object of the application has gotten corrupted.
    The reason I suspect this is that anytime I try to open anything with code behind it I get the dreaded "MSAccess has encountered a problem and needs to close error"
    I tried to open the module and do a compile on it (this usually shows where the error is) but when I try to open the module I get the same result!
    If you know how to get into this file without it blowing up please let me know!
    I have tried do a Compact and Repair - no help there!



    Further investigation shows that it is a particular window that is corrupted - I have been able to recreate everything in the database by creating a new one and importing everything BUT the window in question. Is there some way to edit the code that is in that window?
    Last edited by rcrobman; 04-27-2011 at 09:29 AM. Reason: Correct statement on what is corrupted

  2. #2
    NoellaG's Avatar
    NoellaG is offline Expert
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    771
    Hi,

    1/try to create a new, empty database.
    2/Import all not corrupted objects
    3/In the old database go to the VBA window and then, without opening the corrupted module export it in txt format
    4/Import the VBA text into the newly created database.

    succes
    NG

  3. #3
    rcrobman is offline Not Expert Yet!
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    73
    Thanks for the reply.
    Unfortunately the code that is corrupted is in a form.
    I have been able to import everything else but I cannot import that form nor can I find any way to get to the code part of the form.
    If I try to use the documenter - Access blows up, open the form - Access blows up, import the form - Access blows up.
    I saw some people talking about a decompile from the command line but that seems to have been removed. I did a search on MS for command line switches in Access 2007 and there is no listing for it!
    ~sigh~

  4. #4
    rcrobman is offline Not Expert Yet!
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    73

    Re-Created DB is double the size?

    I was able to re-create the db by doing an import of everything but the courrupted window but now the new db is virtually twice the size of the old db???
    What makes this very strange is that this is just a front end db and the data is located on a SQL Server so why would the development files be twice as big - if anything I would have supsected they would shrink?
    Anyone got any ideas on this?

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Corrupted Microsoft Access Database
    By segnosaur in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2011, 12:22 AM
  2. Database "corrupted"
    By aat in forum Access
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-21-2010, 02:44 PM
  3. Corrupted Database
    By evander in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-29-2010, 12:58 PM
  4. Corrupted owner information in Tables
    By PJneedshelp in forum Access
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 06:36 AM
  5. What Corrupted an MS SQL 2000 Table ?
    By dickyfinn in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-2009, 05:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums