Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast
    Duncan is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows Vista Access 2007

Combobox display order

I have a table with a combobox in it. The records displayed in this combobox are in the same correct order as displayed in the source table. The problem is that when I select multiple values in the combobox they appear by default in alphabetical order in the table.
    How do I get the selected data in the combobox to appear in the same order on the table as selected and not in alphabetical order? I think it may have something to do with the criteria section of the query that generates the combobox from the source table!

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    First, you should not have a combo box at the table level (even though Access has that capability). It will cause you problem, you might want to take a look at this site for more details.

Thanks for the help. I'm new to access and have read what you suggested. So should I have the comboboxs in the forms with the original table as the recordsource with the elected data duming into another table. I have done this and it works, however this way seems not to allow multiple select comboboxs, Just a single select. I want the user to be able to make multiple selections reorded in the one cell
    Last edited by Duncan; 04-14-2011 at 04:09 AM.

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    I see you are using Access 2007, is the field in the table a multivalue field? If so, I have tried to avoid using those, so I'm not sure how they would work.

I generally use a multi-select list box when I want users to have the option of selecting more than one option.

In order to help you out better, we need to understand what your table structure looks like. Could you provide that?