Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23
  1. #16
    jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    2,901

    Another thought about that. Could I add two new fields in the Assets table for "UpdateUsage" and "UpdateUsageDate" ? Then I could bound the text boxes couldn't I? And wouldn't that also make it easier to run an append query on?
    In terms of the query, it would not matter since you still need to get the values in the controls whether they are bound or unbound to do the append to the asset usage table..

    I would also worry about normalization since you technically would be violating normalization rules.

  2. #17
    10 Gauge's Avatar
    10 Gauge is offline Getting the hang of it...
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    202
    Quote Originally Posted by jzwp11 View Post
    In terms of the query, it would not matter since you still need to get the values in the controls whether they are bound or unbound to do the append to the asset usage table..

    I would also worry about normalization since you technically would be violating normalization rules.
    10-4. We'll wipe that idea from the docket!

    Any idea why the append query isn't moving any data to my table? It's not throwing me any errors either, but when I check the table nothing has been added.

  3. #18
    jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    2,901
    You only built the append query, now you have to execute it

    currentDB.execute mySQL, dbfailonerror

  4. #19
    10 Gauge's Avatar
    10 Gauge is offline Getting the hang of it...
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    202
    Ah, ok.... Didn't know you had to execute it, kind of figured that execution was assumed as a button click event.

    Now it works! Thank you greatly, once again sir!

    How do I get that line to grey out once it's updated?


  5. #20
    jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    2,901
    I don't know if you can since any thing you do will probably carry through to all records. The other option is to only include records in the form that have not been updated in some period of time and then when you do the append query, requery the form's recordsource and have it drop any newly updated records from the recordsource.

  6. #21
    10 Gauge's Avatar
    10 Gauge is offline Getting the hang of it...
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    202
    Quote Originally Posted by jzwp11 View Post
    I don't know if you can since any thing you do will probably carry through to all records. The other option is to only include records in the form that have not been updated in some period of time and then when you do the append query, requery the form's recordsource and have it drop any newly updated records from the recordsource.
    10-4. I'll get feedback from my guy on this and see if he likes it, if so then we'll just go with it!

    Thx again!

  7. #22
    jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    2,901
    You're welcome

  8. #23
    ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows 2K Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    9,664
    PMFJI, I've been following this thread - this is how we handle data entry.


    A button opens the data entry form, using, in part, this line:

    DoCmd.OpenForm "enter hours", , , "[hbh_hours] = -1111"


    In the form open event, we have code that creates a recordset of active employees by company and division. The code loops thru the recordset, entering a new record in the hours table for each employee, entering a -1111 (minus quad ones) in the hours field.

    When the form loads and displays, it is filtered to only display records with the hours field = -1111. The form record source is a query with the employee table, the hours table and a few other tables.

    The actual hours are entered for each employee, various other fields have data entered, calculations are performed and the record is saved.

    When the close button is clicked, we run a delete query to delete any records that has a -1111 in the hours field.
    The SQL is: "DELETE FROM hour_bank_hour WHERE [hbh_hours] = -1111"


    I'm not real happy about adding/deleting so many records each time the form is opened due to bloat, but it ensures no employees are missed.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Designing Reports
    By jlclark4 in forum Reports
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-28-2011, 01:46 PM
  2. Help with designing database
    By nimalp in forum Access
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-15-2010, 10:34 AM
  3. Designing Form
    By Kookai in forum Forms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-30-2010, 11:03 AM
  4. columns for group detail but not group header?
    By Coolpapabell in forum Reports
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-21-2009, 08:53 AM
  5. Help Designing Tables
    By sakthivels in forum Database Design
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-09-2009, 07:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums