AmishLou is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Control sourced from another control will not update field in table

I am relatively new to Access. I have a database with one form and a few tables. In my personnel table, I have fields for a person's Grade and a person's Rank. These are different ways of saying the same thing, but required in the table. Examples of grade and rank are grade (O-3), and rank (Captain). I have a Grade table with GradeID, Grade, and Rank fields with all the possible grades and ranks. On my form, I currently have combobox controls for Grade and Rank. Since a specific grade will always match a specific rank in my case, I want the form to work so when you select the Grade from the drop down list, the Rank control will either auto-fill or default to the associated Rank. I have managed to get this to work in a number of ways, but in every case the Personnel table's Rank field will not be updated or filled in with the data from the Rank control on my Personnel form, it remains blank. I have tried a few different things on the Event tab of my Rank control, trying to have cbo3 = [Rank] (using the expression builder to select the Rank control and the Rank field on my Personnel table) but I must be doing something wrong. I tried entering that same expression in more than one Event, entering data in a form, saving, moving to a new record, closing the form, then going to the Personnel table and refreshing, all to no avail. I do not really understand code or VBA just yet, but can anyone help me or suggest a solution to this problem?

The Rank control does not have to be on the form at all, if there was a way to have the Grade control work with the GradeID to then enter the correct Rank into the Rank field on my Personnel table.

Thanks.

maximus is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    I have tried replicating your problem and I will give u a simple example here:

I have two tables: