Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Steven.Allman is offline Competent Performer
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    118

    Data Extraction/update

    I have another strange problem
    My corporation has 13000 employees
    I maintain data on about 500 that are qualified to do a certain task.
    I finally got access to the personal data on ALL employees, but my queries take FOREVER to run on all 13000 records. Can I create an update to simply pull the data for my 500 into my own data base, while not loosing the 'other' data I have for those records.
    Company DB has 140 fields, I only need the data from 9-10
    my DB has 30 fields.


    Just pretend its guys updating there phone number with HR, but they are not letting me know, so I need to pull from HRs data and update mine, but I want to do it with one simple query, or form.. Anyone know how I would go about this?

  2. #2
    TheShabz is offline Court Jester
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,368
    1. Link to their table
    2. run an update query on your table, joining on the employeeIDs of the linked table, that updates the information you need.

    Also, your queries should not take long for 13k records, anyway. You might want to spend some time figuring out why that is. I regularly query multiple tables of 5million+records in a matter of a a couple minutes. 13k records should be a matter of seconds.

  3. #3
    Steven.Allman is offline Competent Performer
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    118
    The query length is due to network linked table, not really record numbers
    How do I setup the Parent table, I don't want to create new records, and I don't want to update HR with MY old info. I have never done update queries

  4. #4
    TheShabz is offline Court Jester
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,368
    Ok. Let's call your table myTable and the linked HR table hrTable. The fields in your table you want to update are m1, m2, and m3. The fields from the HR table that you want to pull the info from are h1, h2, and h3.

    UPDATE myTable INNER JOIN hrTable ON myTable.empID = hrTable.empID
    SET myTable.m1 = hrTable.h1, myTable.m2 = hrTable.h2, myTable.m3 = hrTable.h3;

    That updates your table's m1, m2, and m3 fields with the corresponding data in hrTable's h1, h2, and h2 fields joined on the empID which is a unique identifier to ensure that the proper records are being updated. if empID is not available you will have to find some way of uniquely identifying each record.

  5. #5
    Steven.Allman is offline Competent Performer
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    118
    That was not as scary as I thought it would be. Thanks

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Update data via Internet?
    By yes sir in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-04-2010, 02:54 PM
  2. refresh update data problems
    By whm1 in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-19-2010, 01:49 PM
  3. how can we update data
    By grad2009 in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-12-2010, 03:01 PM
  4. how to update data daily
    By periphery in forum Queries
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2010, 08:45 PM
  5. Data Update Problem
    By Nosaj08 in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-15-2009, 02:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums