viper is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

Post "No Record Found" Function

I have a database that serves as a visitor check in and check out with ID badges. I have two tables one with visitor info with an visitor ID number that auto generates. The other is an event table to enter information when a visitor comes in. I have a lookup query to auto fill in the fields related to the visitor info table, after entering just the visitor ID number.

What I want to do is, if some one enters a visitor ID number that does not exist in the system a mesg box will display stating the error then open a second form to enter the visitor info, thus generating a ID number for the visitor.

I have some knowledge of VB in access but I’m un-sure on how to go about writing it up. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

jgelpi16 is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Are you familiar with recordsets? One method would be this....

Set up a recordset with the table that holds your visitor IDs. Set a variable equal to your visitor ID text box value and use the rs.FindFirst method to look up the visitor ID. Use an IF statement something like...

Code:
    IF rs.NoMatch then
         Msgbox "No ID Match.", vbOkOnly
    End If
    If you need more clarification on this let me know.

viper is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Yes please any additional clarification would be great, I haven't experimented with recordssets yet. Would i need a 3rd table to perform the lookup alone?

No, you would set up a recordset as follows:

Code:
    Dim db as DAO.Database
    Dim rs as DAO.Recordset
    Dim vInput

set db = CurrentDb
    set rs = db.OpenRecordset("tablename", dbOpenDynaset)
    rs.movelast
    rs.movefirst

vInput = TextBoxWithID.Value
    rs.FindFirst "[TableFieldNameWithID] = " & vInput

If rs.NoMatch then
         MsgBox "ID Not Found.", vbOkOnly
    End If
    Let me know if this makes sense.

NoellaG is offline VIP