Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    baseborn is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    17

    Making something that isnt a hyperlink a well.. hyperlink

    my movie table example:

    ID - Title - Category - URL
    1 Name Comedy www.whatever.com


    Currently i am creating a report and then exporting to html which the results look somethhing like this:


    MovieName Comedy www.whatever.com
    MovieName Drama www.whatever2.com
    MovieName Action www.whatever3.com




    Obviously the URL's may not work in a report document but regaurdless i have tested and they DO work in the html i export to. ok so with all that being said i am redoing the format of my "reports" and instead of the URL's showing to the right of MovieName and Category i want the MovieName to be the URL. so it may look like:

    MovieName
    Drama

    so MovieName will be the link to whatever URL it has in its record. and IF this is possible is there a way to select the target such as "current window" or "open in new window".

  2. #2
    TheShabz is offline Court Jester
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,368
    I've never done this, so it probably won't work... lol

    Try storing the anchor string in the field then export to html

    So you would have:
    <a href="http://www.whatever.com"> MovieName </a> | Comedy

  3. #3
    ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    2,694
    Quote Originally Posted by baseborn View Post
    so MovieName will be the link to whatever URL it has in its record. and IF this is possible is there a way to select the target such as "current window" or "open in new window".
    I'm not sure Shabz answered this. if the issue is 'current window' or 'new window', then you need to adopt his solution, as well as provide an attribute to the <a> tag to tell the browser what to do. for a new window:
    Code:
    <a href="site" target="_self">site</a>
    and for the same window:
    Code:
    <a href="site" target="_parent">site</a>

  4. #4
    TheShabz is offline Court Jester
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,368
    For a new window, i believe its "target="_blank""

  5. #5
    ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    2,694
    Quote Originally Posted by TheShabz View Post
    For a new window, i believe its "target="_blank""
    wow. one for Shabz, -1 for Adam.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. How to email a hyperlink using VBA
    By Lockrin in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-16-2010, 02:29 PM
  2. Where is the hyperlink....
    By amer in forum Queries
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-09-2010, 12:06 PM
  3. Hyperlink in Report?
    By cadsvc in forum Reports
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-11-2010, 07:27 PM
  4. Hyperlink Help
    By smikkelsen in forum Access
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-12-2010, 11:28 AM
  5. have hyperlink use own name/text
    By airhud86 in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 09:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums