Padawan is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

Table creation advice

Hey all, super newbie here. I am using Access 2007 to create a network circuit tracking database. I have two tables [Circuit] and [Segment]. There are two segments per circuit. The Segment table lists the connection details for that segment. The Circuit table then lists the segments that comprise that circuit.

Circuit
    Circuit.Name - primary key
    Circuit.1 - lookup field, Segment.Name of 1st segment
    Circuit.2 - lookup field, Segment.Name of 2nd segment

Segment
    Segment.Name - primary key
    Circuit.Name - lookup field, key field from Circuit
    Segment.A - one end of the segment
    Segment.Z - the other end of the segment

What I am trying to do is as I enter new records in Circuits, the lookup field for Circuit.1 and Circuit.2 only show those records that are not already present in the Circuit table.

I thought I might be able to use a Query for the lookup field, but it doesn't look like it. And I need the information to remain in the Circuit table even after it is removed from that query lookup.

Any help is appreciated

NTC is offline VIP
    you don't want to lookup in both directions.

if the Circuit table has the two look ups of segments. that's fine. you do not put any look up into the segments table back to circuits. this presumes that the segments table is a static list that has a sole purpose of providing info to the circuit table - sort of like the list of 50 states table which is looked up for an address field.

on the otherhand if each segment is unique to a circuit - and it is not a static list - then what you really want is a subform/table relationship. Don't use any look ups at all. make them 2 separate tables. put into the segment table your cross reference field back to the circuit table id (not a lookup - just a field to hold the circuit ID). Then join these into Main form/ subform using a form.

Quote Originally Posted by NTC View Post