cgjames is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

New Guy Structure questions

Hello!

I am a therapist, not a programmer, but due to various unfortunate budgetary situations, I have been drafted into building a database for collecting our grant money. As such, we have a series of forms we use and specific data to collect for our grant submission. I am building the DB on 2010, but the system will run on 2003. I don't have access to Access 2003, so I am using the file format and hoping it'll work.

I'm going to try to ask questions as specifically as I can make them. My first deals with the structure of the database. I am currently working with one section of the agency that uses four forms, several of which have the same data. I have broken down the database into like-data tables (rather than form-based tables) and plan to use both Client ID's and form ID's to connect the tables (so that we can save and retrieve the data that was input at any given meeting).

I have read that one goal is to minimize redundancy of data in different tables (normalization I think it's called). As such, I want to have the therapist doing the interview to type "Form Number" into the top of the form, and have it write that number to each of the tables that that form uses. Right now I am getting an error message that is telling me that "there must be a related record" in when I try to create a new record. I suspect that referential integrity cannot create new records?