shiphtfour is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2007

Form with parameter query subform

Hello,

I am trying to create a form that uses a combo box as the criteria value for a query that is displayed in a subform below the combo box. Because I am new to access, I can't quite figure it out.

Given the example of using the form to enter product quantities, I would like the user to be able to select the company from a combo box, then this would auto-update a query contained in a subform below the combo box to display all the products made by that company. The user would then select the product in the subform and enter the quantity in a textbox below the subform.

My purpose for the form is not the same as this, but for the sake of simplicity, this scenario is easier. Is this possible?

So far, all I have figured out is that Forms!Form1.ComboBox (with the correct names replaced of course) goes in the criteria value under the same field that the combo box contains. Any help is greatly appreciated.

TheShabz is offline Court Jester
    Windows XP Access 2003
    You would create the query for the subform as if you wanted to get info for all the companies. In the design view, for companyID, you would enter Forms!frmName!comboName . Then you create a query that will pull company IDs and names and bind the combo box to it. Hide the column with the IDs but make sure the value held is the ID. Now go into the AfterUpdate event of the combo box and type in Me.subformName.Requery.

That should do it.

Windows 7 Access 2007