pedie is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

Does access have multi user sharing & updating simultenously?

Hi, I'm new to access so please be gentle. I have no idea how access works but heard it can take in mad huge data as compared to excel.

Does access have multi user sharing & updating simultenously like excel?
    If so please suggest a link/video tutorial etc where i can learn the basics.

Thanks alot
    Pedie

I just went through this
    Last edited by pedie; 12-17-2010 at 05:38 PM. Reason: adding info

SteveF is offline Generally AccessAble
    Windows XP Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    How broadly do you want to share/update? If it's multiple workstations on a local network, no problem for up to about 10 simultaneous users. Beyond that number, it will still work but start to get sluggish -- you'll be starting to push it beyond its design limits.

The concept is as follows: Your "database" will have two parts. The "data" portion will be in a shared location on the network. All that will be in there are the tables that contain the data.

The "user" portion will have everything else -- queries, forms, reports, macros, VBA code -- needed to make things work. The user portion, or front-end, can have multiple copies, each sitting on every person's workstation. The front-end uses "linked tables" to connect to the back-end "data" portion.

When set up like this, Access can do exactly what you want, for many more records of data than Excel can handle.

Steve

pedie is offline Novice
    Steve, thanks alot for quick reply. Great to hear that it is possible...
    What i'm trying to create is something like...for an example like this forum using access as a site. Where user can view the question and post back to them accordinly.
    The thing is that in excel there can be lots of conflicts because there can be multiple user posting in same cell...

Please help me on how to go about it

Thanks again
    Pedie