Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    shiphtfour is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2007

Question Relational database for mice breeding

I am trying to design a relational database for breeding mice in a laboratory, but I am new to access, so I am unsure what the best approach may be. The database will be used primarily for two things: census and ordering mice.

The census I assume is achieved through queries. I would like to be able to generate a report containing: total number of cages, number of cages for each room, number of cages for each strain, number of mating pairs for each strain, number of offspring for each strain, number of female and male offspring for each strain, and number of mice with a certain genotype for each strain.

The database will also be used by researchers who want to order mice. This I assume will be accomplished by a form and maybe also a query (Ideally they should be able to filter the mice based on strain, genotype, date of birth, and available mice and then select the specific mice which they would like to order). Then there should be some way of notifying the assistants in back working with the mice that a new order has come in and they can sign those mice out (this I am not sure how to do).

So, back to the actual design of the database. With these uses in mind, I really appreciate some input on what tables I should have, what fields they should contain, and how they will relate to each other.

Although my knowledge of access is limited, my thoughts for setting this up so far are as follows:

There will be five main tables: offspring, mating pairs, female mates, male mates, and cages. I am not sure if I should split the offspring into separate tables based on strain or just have the strain in a field in the mating pairs table.