Results 1 to 5 of 5

Form not showing content in "Form View" mode

  1. #1
    ahuffman24 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    1

    Form not showing content in "Form View" mode

    Hi,



    I am currently using Access 2016. For some background, I am trying to create a form that combines fields from two separate tables (Customer/Order Info table and Inspection_Table table). The two tables have multiple fields, but they are linked via a relationship through their "Order Number" and "Item Number" fields. The issue I am having right now is when I create a form (using the form wizard) and select my desired fields from each table, the text boxes for each field will not show up when I am in Form View mode. They do show up if I am in Design View or Layout View. Also, I tried creating a form using only fields from the Customer/Order Info table as well as a form using only fields from the Inspection_Table table, and in these cases, the text boxes did show up in Form View mode like they should. Could there be an issue with how I have my relationship set up between the two tables? Or is there a setting/option that I need to change when I try to make a form using fields from two tables? Thanks!

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    7,537
    make a query that joins the 2 tables on the common fields and show them in a continuous form
    or
    make a single record form, that shows 1 record from 1 table and a subform that shows all related recs from the other table
    or
    a single record form that has 2 subforms, each to 1 table.

  3. #3
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    46,888
    Post the attempted query SQL statement.

    If you want to provide db for analysis, follow instructions at bottom of my post.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  4. #4
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    5,513
    - "doesn't work" is no help. Post err msgs and where.
    - Use code tags for code/sql. Implement changes in copies of your database.
    Sometimes I talk to myself - like when I need expert advice.

  5. #5
    orange's Avatar
    orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    13,687
    It would be helpful if you described your set up more fully and showed us your tables and relationships.
    Your tables -Customer/Order Info table and Inspection_Table table- do not appear to be those I see normally.
    We often see

    Customer -->Order-->OrderDetail<--Item

    but your situation may be unique/different. I'm not sure what Inspection refers to.
    It could be that your tables and/or relationships need to be adjusted to match your requirement.
    Good luck with your project.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-29-2015, 12:46 PM
  2. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-23-2015, 06:28 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-07-2015, 07:00 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-08-2014, 08:36 AM
  5. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-23-2012, 06:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Tech Forums: Microsoft Office Forums