staton101 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Pre-populate fields on a Form from last record based on entry of field

Hi, I'm fairly new to Access 2016 and VBA and hope that I can get some help please.

I have a financial transaction Form and when entering a Vendor/Payee from a Combobox I want to fetch the latest Financial transaction entered for that Vendor/Payee and return 2 fields to populate onto the displayed Form. I think using 'On change' event on the Vendor/Payee field would be the way to go but I'm not sure about the coding required.
    Can you help?

Dave14867 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    staton101,

Assuming that the fields you want are in the same table as the combo box is referencing, ensure that you include those fields in the combo box. I would use the AfterUpdate event. Then in the fields you want populated on the form you want populated use VBA in the AterUpdate event to populate those referring to the column of the combo box.

If you could attache a copy of the database it would be much easier to assist.

Dave

Minty is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    I would use the after update event for a combo, and ensure that you bring in the 2 fields required as hidden columns in the combo row source query.
    You can the set the values on the form using (assume the Vendor is the first bound column)

Code:
    Me.YourControl1 = Me.comboVendor.Column(1)
    Me.YourControl2 = Me.comboVendor.Column(2)
    Where comboVendor is your combo control name. Column numbering starts at (0)
    YourControl1 and 2 are the controls you want to set the value in.
    DLookup Syntax and others http://access.mvps.org/access/general/gen0018.htm
    Please use the star below the post to say thanks if we have helped !
    ↓↓ It's down here ↓↓

Windows 10 Access 2016

The fields come from the Financial Transaction (TransEntries) table

Quote Originally Posted by Dave14867 View Post
    staton101,