elliemac is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Joining table?

hi

I'm new to Access (and Windows!), trying to set up a basic db for clients / visits in an NFP. I was doing fine until i tried to establish links between clients to indicate family relationships.

I currently have two tables :

Table 1: individual client registrations (PK: ClientID, autonumber). The table includes a 'FamilyID' field, (basically one of the family's client ID numbers is manually inserted for each member of the family)

Table 2. Visits (PK: autonumber, VisitID; FK: Client ID).

This works to link individual registrations to individual visits, but while we need to have separate registration records for each member of the family, we actually need all visits to be linked to the family not the individual. I get that it's a 'many to many' relationship but i just can't work out how to create the joining table. What fields would i have in the joining table?

I am tying myself in knots, so all help will be gratefully received.

thanks
    ellie.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    You need a "Family" table or call it Accounts. Then you need a related dependent table "Registrations" for all individuals associated with that account. So with the "Visits" table that is 3 tables so far.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Windows 10 Access 2016
    Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    You need a "Family" table or call it Accounts. Then you need a related dependent table "Registrations" for all individuals associated with that account. So with the "Visits" table that is 3 tables so far.
    Thanks. What I can't seem to get right is what fields link the tables.