IS2019 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Create ID

Caveat:I am new to access therefore require step by step instructions.

I was wondering whether you could write us some code so I can create file numbers automatically on entering the date file is opened.

I have set up a basic table on Access. Ist field is the primary key ID field which automatically increments which I don't want to touch.

I have a field called OpenDate and another called UFN.

I have created a form with these three fields with the form named as frmOpenFile.

What I need is code to be entered on the AfterUpdate event in the textbox [OpenDate] to convert the format from e.g. 01/02/2019 to 010219 and auto insert that in to the UFN box with an increment of three digits at the end to give the unique Id.therefore when you select a date opened the UFN box is autopopulated with the next unused UFN. Therefore if u select 1st Feb the UFN box should autopopulate with 010219/001.

If I open a new record and insert the same date the UFN should be 010219/002 and so on.
    Thanks

Minty is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Apart from recording the opendate twice (remember you already have it in the OpenDate field) , what is the overall purpose of this field ?

You seem to be creating something unnecessary If all you want is a unique file name simply format the OpenDate with the primary key -

Code:
    MyCalculatedField: Format([OpenDate],"ddmmyyyy") & "/" & [YourIDField]
    No need to store it you can always calculate it.
    DLookup Syntax and others http://access.mvps.org/access/general/gen0018.htm
    Please use the star below the post to say thanks if we have helped !
    ↓↓ It's down here ↓↓

IS2019 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Thank you for your reply.

If I use the PK field would it not just keep incrementing. I only need the last three to increment but dependant on the date opened.

Minty is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    It will just increment.